Different Views

      The one thing that I would really love to have – and my whole family would like to have – is a house of our own…and then the time to turn it into our home…no matter where we are, I do try very hard to make it a home…because home is where the heart is;)  Nothing fancy…we’re not fancy people.  Just something – some place – to work on making OURS…instead of being stuck in the renting rut.  BUT, as long as we have a roof over our heads, I am/we are grateful.

      I had control of the remote in our house the other day.  How that happened, I am not exactly sure…I am not a “TV person” and my hubby and kids usually rule the remote.  I was watching “House Hunters.”  The realtor shows the people three houses/condos, then they decide which one to buy…and for most clients, they have already looked at SEVERAL other properties before the three on the TV show.  I like to see the houses and the prices in the USA…what differences there can be!

    Anyway, my daughter and one son (an 8th grader) joined me and started watching the episodes with me.  Do you know what they noticed?  Well, a few things…1.)  It costs a lot to buy a house/condo.  (Boy, do I know that!!!)  2.) People are really picky!  3.)  People are wasteful.  Yes, kids, you are right.

    Seemed like all the people NEEDED granite counter tops in the kitchens.  Nothing else would do, even if it was a NEW kitchen!  Oh, no, we’ll have to put in GRANITE.  My son asked me WHY?  Heck, I don’t know…I would be happy to have nice counter tops/space to work on in the kitchen…and I have never had a kitchen with an island, which is another “must” for so many people.  And BATHROOMS…seems like every time they walked into a bathroom you would hear “We’ll have to re-do this!”  Why?  Does the toilet, sink, and tub/shower work?  Yes?  Then that’s a good thing.  You can decorate and coordinate your bathroom/powder room without tearing it all up.  Right now, we do have two bathrooms – and they are both plain ugly…but they work.  I buy pretty shower curtains and curtains and colorful towels/bath mats.

     What would we like to have?  More bedrooms…we have been a bit cramped for the last several years…but, we’re family, and we make it work.  CLOSETS.  There are only 3 in the house we are renting…3…for 8 people now – used to be 10 of us…Now that is ridiculous!  Oh, yes…on the TV show, the people all NEEDED walk-in closets…BIG walk in closets…one couple even needed a “tee-shirt wall” in their walk-in closet.  Really?

     A family/play room and a dining room, as well as a living room, and maybe a finished basement – if we could afford it.  Just to give everyone some space, but also give us more room to be together…you should see us in our small kitchen and living/family room…talk about rubbing elbows and sitting on top of each other!  Once again, we’re family…so we make it work…but not always quietly!

     A fenced in yard – small, medium, or large…definitely would be a plus for us.  That’s something we could agree on with some of the people on TV…SOME.

      FLOORS…some demanded only hard wood floors…no laminated flooring or carpeting…or the carpeting would not be the right color.  A nice clean floor is fine with me…and make sure that it is easy to clean: two words – kids & pets.

     Seems like people waste time, and money, and energy…they do.  Some people need that perfect house – and end up working all the time, leaving no time to enjoy the “home” that they want…does that make sense?  Getting rid of counter tops – perfectly good ones – just to have granite…re-doing a bathroom because the tile or color is not right…WASTE.

     If I had a dollar for all the needs and wants of the people looking for houses/condos on the TV show, I would probably have a nice deposit…or a down payment for a house…That’s a nice thought:)

     I cannot change the mistakes we’ve made (about our housing over the years), but I can still dream and plan…because I would really love to have a house of our own – and then I could focus on making it a home – the center for our family, so, even when the kids are grown, they still come back…again and again…and if my hubby and I are blessed with grandshildren, there will be room for sleep-overs.  Lots of them.  Traditions, holiday meals, summer barbecues…HOME.

    

   

About crazy8mommaagain

Homemaker w/ 2 part-time positions outside of the home. Married over 25 years to the same guy:) Happy & proud parents - 8 children, ages 24 to 5. 7 sons, 1 daughter Like to be positive:) Enjoy crocheting. LOVE the beach!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

